Aviation ✈✈

My latest entry for Spoonflower weekly contest : Aviation

A Nostalgic Voyage

I did a little research prior to designing and I guess the theme of this contest has something to do with the 115th birthday of Amelia Earhart, born 24/7, 115 years ago. She was the aviation pioneer, who was the first female pilot to cross the Atlantic Ocean.

Quoting the words of CMG Worldwide’s CEO Mark Roesler: “Amelia’s career endeavors, and her image as the most renowned female aviator, personifies the spirit of adventure that is so indispensable to the American persona. Her legacy is timeless and will never go out of style.”

As Amelia Earhart flew in an Lockheed Vega, I decided to use it in my patterns for the entry. I researched and drew an aerial view of the plane, filled it up and introduced the colour palette I had chosen. To add interest to the design, certain planes were half “punched out” and I added some pinwheel stripes for contrast. I also drew some random spiral and circles using pen to be placed as a background as I felt this could signify the voyage itself.

I’m quite pleased with the outcome although if given more time (ok, ok… I should have started earlier), I would have “distress” the planes a little to enhance the vintage look. Anyway, I have all the time in my hands to do it later… after my coffee break. 😉

Leave a Reply

