Tigerprint male icon Competition

I have entered 2 entries for Tigerprint’s latest competition – Male Fashion Icons & Symbols. The challenge is to find the next big trend to replace the mustache craze. After some brainstorming I came up with icons like: Ascot tie, pocket watch, dopp kit, pocket square, suspenders, fountain pens, horn-rimmed glasses and argyle patterns. After more research I settled with pocket squares and geeky glasses as they seemed to be the ones with most potential as fashion icons in trend for year 2013. Below are the short descriptions/rationales for both designs respectively. “Pocket Squares, the New Tiesβ€œA white handkerchief placed in the breast pocket of a dark suit… is the sure sign of a confident and knowledgeable dresser.” – Alan Flusser Pocket Squares are making a comeback according to recent trends and pairing a coat with a trendy pocket square gives the outfit a dressier look, without the stuffiness of a tie. The design here shows a variety of colorful, printed pocket squares which conveys the trend with personality added. —- “Argyle Geek-chic” I have chosen eyeglass here as the male icon, as it has become an essential accessory for any modern man who wants to look more attractive and trendy. Research shows, 2013 eyewear is all about going bigger and bolder, therefore the geek-chic vintage styled glasses here takes to the mainstage. I have incorporated modern argyle pattern within so it adds to the uniqueness and sophistication of the design. —- The palette used for both designs are based on the colour trends for 2013. It aims to celebrate the finer things in life, displaying a sense of history and elegance. —- I must admit this was quite a challenging brief for me in terms of subject matter, at the same time adhering to trends. The good thing for now is that I am slightly more knowledgeable, after a fair amount of research and I could confidently tell my man (in a professional tone) to fill his coat pockets stylishly and hang on to his geeky glasses well into year 2013. Wish me luck. πŸ™‚

4 comments

  1. I’m glad you stopped by my site, because it led to me finding YOUR site. Your work is strident and whimsical and delights me to no end! I have a lot of friends who will appreciate the marriage of eyeglasses and argyle, so I’m going to be sharing this on Facebook. Myself…I like the pocket squares. How you made little fabric swatches so endearing is quite a feat!

    1. Hi Gabriel, thank you for your kind comments and I truly appreciate it!! You have certainly made my day when I know my works had brought delight to someone πŸ™‚ I’m also glad that you like the pocket squares as I had enjoyed working on that one… meticulously designing, colouring and pasting the fabric within the pockets (that’s the long suffering perfectionist in me talking) πŸ˜‰
      I also wanna say… an artist’s lonely path is definitely made much brighter by people like you… hope to see you around often and I gladly welcome any honest opinions on my designs from you πŸ™‚ x

  2. I LOVE the eyeglasses!!! Argyle and eyeglasses – two of my favorite things, in some of my favorite colors. Love. Love Love. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you missyinmotion! I’m really happy you like it! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

