“Passion for Pattern” Bloghop!

Welcome to the Passion4Pattern BlogHop! You probably just visited Louise Gale’s inspirational and colorful blog, and I am the next stop on today’s hop. Welcome! If you have only just found the hop, pop over to Claire Smillie’s blog where you can get started and join in the fun! For today’s special post, I would like to share with you some of my earliest work on surface pattern. I had been a graphic designer for more than 12 years designing mainly for corporate companies. When my company initiated a calendar project to raise fund for the charity, I had the opportunity to come up with some cheerful and colour-rich illustrations, in which I found so much fun in creating (and that led me to surface pattern designing eventually!). Inspired by works of pop artist Andy Warhol, I did a total of 12 designs. Below are a few from the collection, and I have reworked each of them onto a product which they can be also represented on. Thank you for hopping by and I would love for you to leave any comments or if you enjoy my designs do “like” me on my Facebook. :) For more pattern inspirations, make sure you visit Jolene Heckman who has some great designs to show you! Have a lovely pattern-filled day and hope to see you back here again!

16 comments

  1. Hello! Thank you for sharing your wonderful designs and for mentioning my blog on the hop today! Especially love your orange cushion design. Happy designing! xxx

  2. LOVELY WORK SYLVIA. Loving the Apron design.

    Jen x

  3. Lovely work Sylvia, Very distinctive style x

  4. Sylvia, always love your work! I dreamt of your retro airplanes the other night..haha..well I was thinking you should work them into the wallpapered map theme- just a thought:) Julie

    1. Oh Julie, I am flattered! The little planes must have flown off to pay you a visit while I wasn’t looking haha 😀 Thanks for the wonderful idea. I am still quite clueless about what to do for the wallpaper theme, will give it a try to see how I can work it in! 🙂

  5. oooh Sylvia! Love your inspiration and that last red design with the white flower is stunning as a cushion. I would totally have this…the yellow phone case is fun too! Great designs, thank you so much for sharing them with us.

  6. These are lovely Sylvia, love the bright colours!

  7. Sylvia, Love your style, and adore your blog header…so fun!

  8. that butterfly rocks, Sylvia! nice to find your work.

  9. lovely! pillow is my favorite!

  10. Wonderful to see all of these!!! Bright and fresh!

  11. Hello everyone, thank you so much for leaving your kind words and lovely comments on my blog!! I am so glad I took part in this blog hop. It has been a wonderful experience, getting to know all of you more through your blogs and amazing works! Really grateful to be in this supportive and talented community 🙂

  12. Sylvia, I love your bright, fresh colours. Your style is truly original with the soft brush-style edges and your product mock-ups look fabulous. Lovely work.

  13. Zoe Attwell · · Reply

    Lovely designs Sylvia!

  14. The concentric circles on that pillow are mesmerizing! I will have to find some way to capture that magic in my work, somehow.

  15. Great hand drawn quality your work have. Well done!

Leave a Reply

